How to bank?

A repository for intrinsically valuable information

How to bank?

Postby octoberpumpkin » Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:24 pm

Is anyone here good at the banking? I am not good at the banking.

I made up a nifty budget for my boyfriend and I, and it has savings and it has savings for car stuff and for home stuff and for school stuff as was outlined by the budget Gods. So umm, I was wondering how you keep those savings all separate and sorted? Also, savings accounts. Should we get a savings account instead of just using checking account so we don't accidentally spend. What about that interest stuff? How does that work?

Sorry if this all sounds dumb and thank you for the help!

octoberpumpkin
Time Waster
Time Waster

Show rep
Title: Pinkasaurus Rex

Re: How to bank?

Postby Masonator » Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:25 pm

I use Mint, which is alright for budgeting. I'm not really in love with it but it works. For basic savings, I'd just start with a checking and a savings. Use the checking for monthly expenses, and move everything else to savings until you need it. Interest will be nominal on both those accounts though. You'll find more money scouring sidewalks for loose change than you'll get in interest on either a checking or savings account. Just make sure there's no monthly fee for the accounts, or if there is, it is waived if you have a requisite amount of funds in the accounts.

If you've got a decent sized amount of savings that you won't need for the next 9 months or so, you can put that into a certificate of deposit, that will yield a better interest rate than a checking or savings account even though it is still kind of crap. There's a penalty for withdrawing from a CD before it matures though, so consider that before you commit to a 9 month or 12 month CD.