TCS Write-off April 2016 Results

A place to hang your fingerpaints, blue ribbons and the things you've created.

TCS Write-off April 2016 Results

Postby Marcuse » Sat May 07, 2016 6:22 pm

The results of the April Write-off are as follows:

The View From the AT-AT by Gisambards with 8 votes
Towards Peace by BrownRecluse with 7 votes
Dawn of Just Us by FacetheCitizen with 2 votes
Not Today by CarrieVS with 1 vote

And the winner is…

Gisambards!

She kindly sent a few words about The View From the AT-AT:

Gisambards wrote:Thank you for the votes.

I'm not very good at writing serious short stories, which is why this one is purely comedic.
That said, this story does reflect my general attitude to world-building: I think certain franchises, of which Star Wars is a prime example, have a tendency to focus purely on factual world-building - creating lots of excellent planets and races and factions and stuff - but forget to round the universe they've created out by actually telling us what people living in that universe actually think about those things. I find this is what I prefer to focus on in fan-fiction, and this story does try to delve a little into that, albeit in a comedic fashion.

There is a thread to discuss the works here, and the stories have been reposted with their names (barring works where the author has asked to remain anonymous) here.

Last of all, a huge thank you to everyone who competed in this contest. It’s been a pleasure to see so many people participate and write amazing work they then bravely put up for judging. Thank you also to everyone who read these stories, writebot got over a hundred thumbs over the course of the contest!

The next competition writing phase will probably be in a little while. I have a small person arriving in June. Stay tuned and I will try to run one as soon as I can get a full night’s sleep.

Marcuse
TCS Sithlord
TCS Sithlord

Show rep

The View From The AT-AT

Postby gisambards » Sat May 07, 2016 6:23 pm