Paradox games

What are you playing. Hands out of your pockets!

Paradox games

Postby Blackfish » Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:41 am

So, anyone else here play Paradox games?

In recent months I've been playing mostly Crusader Kings II, but this week I started playing Europa Universalis III again. I wanted to get in at least one more game before EU4 comes out, as I suspect EU4 is one of those sequels that makes its predecessors completely obsolete.

I got Victoria II and the A House Divided expansion recently, but I just cannot get into it. The mechanics seem completely oblique to me.

Here's my current EU3 game - the Kingdom of Germany at the conclusion of the Wars of German Unification in the early seventeeth-century.
Spoiler: show
I had played Brandenburg-Prussia a few times before, but I always ended up dominating the HRE and just passing all the reforms and eventually tag-switching to the HRE, so this is my first time actually forming Germany. It was pretty slow going as I had to eat a lot of Unlawful Territory to get the cores needed to form Germany, but it was kind of fun to play a slow game. I finally fulfilled all the conditions in 1616, and the past twenty years have been almost non-stop war against all the rest of the German states. I would declare war on one or the other German minor and everyone else would just pile on me, but I rationalized it as all the other German states forming a league to oppose me. With full quality, free subjects, a tech advantage and the Prussian military reforms though, I crushed them pretty easily. This is what I love about EU3, by the way. By proper preparation and foresight even the most mediocre player can become an unstoppable juggernaut.

In the night there is something wild
Can you hear it breathing?
Blackfish
Dr. Jan Itor
Dr. Jan Itor

Show rep
Title: Holy Mop Master Race

Re: Paradox games

Postby idontlivehere1122 » Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:45 am