KK Reviews Books 'n Stuff

Books Matter.

KK Reviews Books 'n Stuff

Postby KleinerKiller » Sat Apr 29, 2017 4:15 am

Hey, I'm a writer, an avid reader, and a habitual reviewer. Isn't it weird that I've never actually reviewed books here? I know, it's crazy. That's why I'm doing it now!

This will be a lot looser than my usual reviews, since books (and whatever other literary works I eventually decide to cover, like comics, manga, internet stories, etc.) are an inherently more singular medium than films, games, etc. Rather than judge specific elements of each work, I'll just be giving my thoughts on the story and the prose it's brought to life through as those thoughts come to me. We don't talk a lot about literature here, which is a shame, but hopefully this can spark discussions or at least get you to check out some cool shit.

First review will be Nick Cutter's The Deep, the novel that prompted me to do this in the first place, and it will be up in this thread later tonight. In the mean time, any questions, suggestions, or other contributions are welcomed!

"Your mind is software. Program it. Your body is a shell. Change it. Death is a disease. Cure it." - Eclipse Phase

NEW REVIEW! Judgment / Judge Eyes (2019)
KleinerKiller
Time Waster
Time Waster

Show rep
Title: Cute

Re: KK Reviews Books 'n Stuff

Postby Deathclaw_Puncher » Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:19 am

Here's some suggestions:
"Rhinoceros", by Eugene Ionesco
"The Setting Sun", by Osamu Dazai
"A Canticle For Leibowitz", by Walter Miller
"Batgirl (The New 52)", by Gail Simone
"Apollo's Song", by Osamu Tezuka
"Ode To Kirihito", By Osamu Tezuka

Deathclaw_Puncher
Knight Writer
Knight Writer

Show rep
Title: Queen of the Furrets

Postby KleinerKiller » Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:39 am

The Deep (2015)

Author: Nick Cutter (pseudonym of Craig Davidson)
Genre: Cosmic Horror
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Page Count: 394